you resource for all things shoegaze & dream pop.

18 April 2018

TONIGHT: WTSH on DKFM Shoegaze Radio premieres Chatham Rise | Le Mirage.


Tonight’s episode of When the Sun Hits on DKFM Shoegaze Radio will feature the exclusive premiere of “Le Mirage” by WTSH favorite Minneapolis psych trio Chatham Rise. The song is a collaboration with Belgium-born, Melbourne-based vocalist/keyboardist Moogy, who provides lyrics, melody, and vocal. It’s the third single and ninth track from Chatham Rise’s upcoming full length Meadowsweet, out May 25th from Picture in My Ear. The show starts at 10pm ET/9pm CT/7pm PT.

“Le Mirage” reaches upward like a psych rock hymn, with church organ tones and wide-open washes of sound raising a vast chapel of reverb shot through with gently fuzzed stained-glass light. Moogy’s sensuous vocal tones and delightful pop melodies provide a grounding counterbalance (perhaps it’s no coincidence that the lyrics work a theme of living in two worlds) while adding to the song’s tug on the heart. A two-minute break forgoes soloing, offering gorgeous chords and textures that are more than enough. The sound is big, and so is the emotional impact. The song ends a few seconds after five minutes, which, while on the longish side, still feels too soon.

After tonight’s premiere, “Le Mirage” will be available for streaming, along with the two previous singles from Meadowsweet, “Hummingbird” and “Never”, on the Bandcamp page where the album is available for pre-order. Below, the recently released video for “Hummingbird”. 



Chatham Rise appears with The Brian Jonestown Massacre at First Avenue in Minneapolis on Saturday, May 12th, and again at the Majestic Theatre in Madison, Wisconsin on Sunday, May 13th.

No comments:

Post a Comment