you resource for all things shoegaze & dream pop.

13 October 2011

Ringo Deathstarr Announce Details of Upcoming EP on Club AC30.

Ringo Deathstarr Announce Details of Their Upcoming EP.

The Shadow EP is the title of the upcoming release from Ringo Deathstarr, out on 7th November on Club AC30 Records. Not only does the EP include a Twin Peaks cover song (damn it, WE wanted to do that), but it will be released digitally and on a very limited edition run of 10" vinyl scented with Japanese Cherry Blossom! How's that for special?

Taken from their press release:

There is a direct line between My Bloody Valentine, the Jesus and Mary Chain and Ringo Deathstarr. And it stops at Slowdive Central. If you retain any fondness for those three – and are mentally aroused by a spot of melody-heavy guitar pop – you will adore the 'Starr - THE GUARDIAN

It'’s a shame we do not live in a world in which Ringo Deathstarr is the name of Liam Gallagher’s new band - NME

The band sounds like it leaped screaming out of My Bloody Valentine's blown amps - WIRED

Their pulsing layers of feedback and those droll, deadpan vocals are ripped straight from Psychocandy, but the galloping, amphetamine rhythms are harder charging than even the most amped up track on that album - Pitchfork

Austin, Texas based Ringo Deathstarr have announced details of the release of a new 4-track EP. The Shadow EP will be released through Club AC30 Records on Monday November 7th 2011.

The tracklisting of the EP, which features a cover version of "Just You" from Twin Peaks series 2, is as follows:

1. Shadow
2. New Way
3. Prisms
4. Just You

The EP, to be released as a download and a limited edition Japanese cherry blossom coloured (and scented) vinyl 10”, will be followed by the release of their 2nd, as yet untitled, album in February 2012.

A series of remixes from the likes of Tim Burgess from the Charlatans, Stuart Braithwaite from Mogwai and Dean Garcia from Curve will also be available.

Currently finishing the new album, the band are due to play at this year’s CMJ conference in NYC before embarking on a quick east-coast tour, then a Japanese tour in December. European and U.K. dates in early 2012 will be announced shortly.

The band released their first album, Colour Trip, in February 2011 and a compilation of their early singles, Sparkler, was released in the autumn of 2011. The last 12 months have seen them play across the globe, including a rapturously received show at this summer’s Fuji Rock Festival; for once, a band genuinely ‘big in Japan’.

Ringo Deathstarr are: Elliott Frazier (guitars & vocals), Alex Gehring (bass & vocals), Daniel Coborn (drums).


No comments:

Post a Comment