you resource for all things shoegaze & dream pop.

24 April 2013

News: Wild Nothing Announce new EP and Video for A Dancing Shell.

Reposted from the Strangeways Radio Blog:

Wild Nothing, Jack Tatum’s one man dream pop project has announced a new EP and video for the track “A Dancing Shell”. The 7 song EP called Empty Estate is the follow up to Wild Nothing’s 2012 second full length release, Nocturne. It will be released on Captured Tracks/Bella Union on May 21st. The EP was inspired by Tatum’s struggles during the late 2012 Nocturne tour. He released a full statement about the EP:

“This is a record that happened very fast for me. We had just gotten back from a particularly long European tour last November, our first supporting Nocturne, and I was feeling a lot of things. I found myself struggling with what it meant to be a musician, with what music in general meant to me and what part I could possibly play in it. Playing the same songs every night for months left me bored with myself. But when I got home, for the first time in awhile it suddenly seemed that the pressure was off. We didn’t have any tours planned for several months and I started to remember again why I love music in the first place. I listened to Brian Eno and David Bowie for weeks on end and felt like I was hearing them for the first time. I took a trip to Miami with my girlfriend. I visited my family. I felt free to try things musically that I would have stifled before. The songs on this EP were recorded over a 10 day period and are a reflection of this time. Of all the frustrations and successes and moments of peace in between.”

Here is EP’s track list, below you can check out the video for “A Dancing Shell”.

1.       The Body In Rainfall
2.      Ocean Repeating (Big-eyed Girl)
3.      On Guyot
4.      Ride
5.      Data World
6.      A Dancing Shell
7.      Hachiko